warning: geek-out below

17Sep08

My classes are nearing the one-month mark, and things are getting pretty exciting. My cataloging class is just starting to examine MARC records and AARC2 format. During my work study tenure, I learned a little bit about the data element titles. Believe it or not, I used to know the numerical headings for statements of responsibility and publication data! However, that information has since escaped the confines of my memory. The opportunity to get back into them is pretty exciting, even though it’s one of the more tedious aspects of my classes.

(Paragraphs like that serve as great reminders that I’m headed in the right direction with my life… even I know how much of a dork I am!)

My reference class is proving to be a lot of fun. The assignments largely entail hands-on activities, like pairing up with a classmate to practice instant message reference transactions. Another one of our assignments compares face-to-face reference transactions with their online counterparts. In just a couple of hours, I’ll be interviewing the reference librarian who I’ll be shadowing for a few hours over the course of the semester. In the stead of classroom learning, these activities bridge the gap in an interesting way. Aside from that, it’s a great chance for us to get networking, which will help me choose my ideal library setting, and maybe even land me a job one day!

Even though adjusting to the distance learning format is still a bit arduous for me, our tasks are definitely making up for it. I was a little worried at the beginning of the semester, but now things are starting to fall into place. My continual delight is further proof of my geekishness, a quality that I embrace with open arms as I move forward in my program.

No Responses Yet to “warning: geek-out below”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

