blogs i love: said the gramophone

04May09

my desktop

I’ve been so busy lately that I’ve been neglecting most of my blogs, including updates to this one.  My RSS feeds are piling up, because I’ve limited myself to just a few sites- enough for a short break, but not enough to be considered procrastinating (I don’t need Bloglines for that, thank you).  Even though the semester has been over for a couple of weeks, I’m still wrapping up my fieldwork project and getting some of my program things taken care of.  Today, though, I’m going through my RSS feeds.

One noteworthy feed that I rediscovered this morning is called Said the Gramophone.  It’s a Canadian blog that features free music downloads every day.  The guys who run the site do so on the premise of exposing people to good music, so happy listeners will go out and buy the good music CDs.  As far as I am concerned, this is a great approach.  Not every song is amazing, but a lot of them are.  And, hey, it’s free, so the only cost is sitting through an occasional unsavory tune.  I’d say it’s a pretty solid value.

Since I’ve abandoned my feeds for about a month, I had quite a few Gramophone downloads to catch up on.  Sixty-four, to be exact.  Once I downloaded them all and witnessed their takeover of my desktop, it occurred to me that I should share this resource.  Now that I’ve shared it with you, go check it out.  Listen, enjoy, and buy one (or more) of the featured artists’ albums.

No Responses Yet to “blogs i love: said the gramophone”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

