jing tutorial: zoho notebook

05May09

If you’ve read just about any other post I’ve ever written, with a few exceptions here and there, you’ll know that one of my Spring classes involved instructional technology.  We’ve worked with a variety of Web 2.0 tools, and discovered how to bring tweets, diggs, nings, blogs, pokes, wikis, skypes, voicethreads, avatars, and a whole lot more into the classroom.  That last sentence sounds a little crazy, but we’ve acquired quite the instructional arsenal to battle educational apathy when we step into our school library media centers.

Now that the semester is over, I can put a little more focus on sharing some of the cool things I’ve done, for my future reference and for the two people who regularly read this (kindest regards to you, mom and dad).  One such cool thing is a Jing tutorial on Zoho Notebook.  I teamed up with a classmate to complete a few assignments about Zoho Notebook that all ended up on a class wiki to teach fellow MLSers about the technology at hand, including a screen cast tutorial.  Thanks again to Chris, my magnanimous partner in crime, for putting up with all of my shenanigans.

For this assignment, we used Jing to capture all of our computer movements and audio commentary in a file that is hosted by Screencast.com.  Jing supports five minutes of screencasting, which was an interesting challenge.  The application was pretty simple to use, with just a few of snags along the way:

  1. The files were on the larger side of things, which gave some of my classmates some trouble.  I only had difficulty uploading it to the wiki, and opted instead for a hyperlink.  Given their problems, however, I removed Jing from my computer as soon I knew we were done with it, just as a precautionary measure.
  2. The files are in .swf format.  Now, I’m sure that everyone who uses a PC is laughing at me right now, because I know I’ve easily converted an .swf file on a PC during my undergrad years of SWiSH use.  You’re probably right.  It would definitely be worth it to run Windows for the triennial necessity I have for converting .swf files.  I digress, but this format bummed me out.  I couldn’t even put it on YouTube!
  3. I am a perfectionist.  Okay, that’s not really true.  When it came to my tutorial, though, I wanted to make sure I spoke clearly and articulately, keeping my foot out of my mouth for five entire minutes.  Jing does not allow editing, so I had to start all over again every time I made a mistake.  After about three hundred and twenty-nine takes, I finally conceded, just happy to have made it in under the time limit.

All in all, Jing was a pretty neat little tool.  Given that my goal was to quickly post the video, I’ll stop reviewing and just put it up.

zoho notebook tutorial

You can also check it out on the Conversants Ning, thanks to Jenifer Bartle.

EDITED FOR AWESOMENESS:

Picture 1



No Responses Yet to “jing tutorial: zoho notebook”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

