weekend residency

11Sep09

Today I’m heading off to Syracuse for a weekend residency for one of my classes.  The class, Integrating Motivation in Information Literacy, seems to have the most education-oriented curriculum of the program to date.  That is, it looks like I’ll be writing a lot of lesson plans this semester.  This area is not my forte, so I’m doing my best to keep an open mind and view this process as a good challenge.

I’ve already had my fears calmed a little bit, though.  For the residency, we were asked to prepare a three-minute lesson to deliver to the class tomorrow.  I’ve been terrified of this for the past week, but I finally came up with something last night that I’m pretty confident about.  This morning, it looked a little like this:

IMG_0365

We’ll see how it turns out!

There are two huge and obvious factors about this weekend that have me really stoked:

  • I don’t have to work again until Tuesday.  No apron, no Vivannos, and no values walk for four whole days.  Now, my job’s alright, but it will sure be nice to take some time away.
  • I’ll get to see some of my fellow librarians-in-training… in person!  At the two-week boot camp last summer, I met a lot of great people with whom I’ve maintained frequent digital contact over the past year.  It’s going to be so great to see some of them again.  We’ll share stories, compare notes, laugh, commiserate, and learn.

I’m quite excited for the residency.  Now all I have to do is finish my homework, clean, pack, and shower!

No Responses Yet to “weekend residency”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

