residency rundown: fall 09 edition

15Sep09

the hill

The coolest thing happened to me during my weekend residency at Syracuse.  I was in my seat, waiting for one of our breaks to end, definitely not checking Facebook, when one of my classmates walked up to me.  She asked me a question that will remain forever in my memory:

Are you karen the librarian?

It took me a second to pull myself into the moment, after which she said some very nice things about my little project here.  As I’ve since discovered, she’s new to the MLIS program.  She also has her own blog, which certainly rivals mine in content and intellect.  Probably readership, too.  Note to self: keep an eye on this Maureen character.

As the lovely Maureen walked away, I turned and whispered to my neighbor, “Did you hear that?  I’m a celebrity!”

She laughed, told me to pipe down, and moved to a seat across the room.

Just then, one of the school media program powerhouses approached me and said that she was talking about me with the weekend class’ professors.  To my surprise, she also admitted to reading my blog, and that she was passing the link onto the professors.  I don’t think she has a blog I can hyperlink to, so I will simply say that she is fantastic.  I am incredibly grateful to her for promptly answering all of my off-the-wall emails and making me feel like this whole endeavor is actually manageable.  And she reads my blog.

I’m not going to let this get to my head, but I would like to take just a second to brag about the fact that a couple of individuals in a small, highly specialized group of people approached me about the blog that I promote mercilessly on Facebook, Twitter, and once or twice on the learning management system.  Alright, let’s just admit it:  I’m kind of a big deal.

Lots of other cool things happened to me at my weekend residency.  So many that I might not remember them all, but I’m going to try anyway:

  • Logged some serious face time with my MLIS friends, most of whom I haven’t seen since last year’s residency.  Some of whom I will never see again outside of Facebook.  It was great to geek out with a bunch of like-minded people who are all going to be fantastic librarians, and let me associate with them for some strange reason.  I can’t express how rad it was to see these people.
  • Met a whole bunch of new future librarians.  It was fun to talk to them about certain professors, program expectations, and ideas for projects.  Besides, it’s always good to add people to my “rad school” category on Facebook.
  • Talking to all these new guys made me realize how far I’ve come, because it doesn’t seem like that long ago that I was asking all the same questions and panicking about screwing up every tiny thing.  Well, it wasn’t all that long ago, but now I ask different questions and panic about screwing up other tiny things.
  • The classroom content also reinforced my learning.  I can confidently say that I know the difference between a goal and an objective, thanks to the PMA I completed for Dr. Oakleaf last spring.  I wasn’t sure whether the readings were really sticking with me, but I realized that a lot of the motivational theories we talked about sounded awfully familiar.  It was reassuring to solidify my learning in this way.
  • Of course, I gained a whole lot of gnarly resources.  About a million ideas, some groovy learning tools, and some content to apply to them.
  • Met some unique crossing guards:

robot crossing guard

All in all, my final required trip to the Syracuse University campus was a fantastic experience.  I’m excited to have it behind me, though, and start applying some of my new knowledge to a real library.

3 Responses to “residency rundown: fall 09 edition”

  1. 1 Marilyn Arnone

    What a terrific post. Your writing style is very engaging. I found an earlier post on del-icio-us and liked it. It would be an ideal starting point for a guest column I have. Please email me personally if you’d like to discuss this more.

  2. Karen – great post! Of course I’m only saying that because I’m in it, LOL! Now I feel famous too. It was nice to meet you in person, and I’ll be keeping tabs on you too. Good luck this semester~
    Maureen


  1. 1 happy 101 award « karen.the.librarian

Leave a Reply

