happy 101 award

13Jan10

I have had every intention of blogging about my month-long trip to the homeland to complete my high school practicum at my alma mater. Every day for the past week, I’ve kicked myself for putting it off. But something more pressing has found its way into my blogovision!

Much to my surprise, I have been given a Happy 101 Award by a classmate, future colleague, and bloggerista Amanda. I’m not sure of the origins of this award, but it’s turned me on to a lot of great blogs. Many of them, including one of Amanda’s, is focused on genealogy. I haven’t had much exposure to this type of blog, so it was really fascinating to check these out… so check them out!

The whole idea of this award is that, once someone gives it to you, you make a list of ten things that make you happy. Then, you pass the award on to ten of your favorite bloggers. Since I’m in no position to be turning down accolades, I will willingly comply with the rules.

Ten things that make me happy (in no particular order):
1. my pet bunny, bianca.
2. discovering just how much of my life in Rochester that I miss, now that I’m away.
3. this song, which I have recently rediscovered. The whole band makes me happy, in fact.
4. anything Apple. I know that this makes me sound materialistic and elitist, but I don’t care. This company’s products make my life easier, and that makes me happy.
5. thinking about how close I am to being a real librarian. I get so excited that I can feel it in my fingertips. I am very fortunate to have found a career that pleases me so.
6. a good chicken salad sandwich.
7. the design process, which I know very little about, from a technical perspective. I just like to look at something and think of all of the other somethings that went into making that one something.
8. singing, loud and proud, whether anyone’s around or not. I have no shame. I recently found a CD of cheesy love ballads that my little sister made for me. From this song to this one, I may or may not have ruptured a blood vessel.
9. a good cup of coffee. And by good, I mean big. Bottomless, if at all possible.
10. Chuck Taylors. I know they’re gaining popularity again, but they really are my favorite shoe of all time. I have yet to find another brand and/or style of shoe that makes my feet sing in this way.

Ten bloggers that make me happy (in no particular order):
1. Library Scenester: I’ve known this girl since my first library gig in undergrad. The level of cool that she brings to the profession was definitely a factor in my decision to become a librarian.
2. megwoog writing: One of my best friends, and an insanely talented poet. Speaking of things that make me happy, way up on the list is hearing her read poetry.
3. The Learning Librarian: This is one of my classmates from SU, who wrote primarily for the iSchool-sanctioned MLIS blog. She’s the one who we all envied for being so darn smart and wonderful. I never knew I could be so close to someone I’ve only met twice!
4. Bibliowhining: I stumbled upon this blog not too long ago on the MLIS RSS feed (acronyms, anyone?). I can’t wait to hear more from her, because she’s an entertaining writer and an impressive artist.
5. Journey into LIS: I first (and last) met Maureen during my weekend residency at SU last fall. She made me feel like a celebrity for about three seconds, before I got flustered and nerdy. Her updates always make me smile.
6. A Coqui in Winterfell: This is the personal blog of Ana, one of my classmates who is also from Rochester. She’s one of those classmates/friends who is a superhero and makes it look so easy.
7. Schoolmarm Style: Another superhero classmate/friend turned me on to this blog, and I think this woman is pretty rad. She’s mastered the balance between hip youngster (not to be confused with a young hipster) and a nerdy librarian. I strive to look this good, even though I’m pretty sure I fail miserably most of the time.
8. Matt, Liz, and Madeline: I know that he won’t respond to this, but Matt Logelin’s blog is fantastic. Check it out, fall in love, and donate some coin to his worthy cause.
9. The Pioneer Woman: Another one who won’t respond, but I’ve been following this blogger since before she became wildly famous. Her posts are entertaining, and her recipes make my guests (and my tummy) very happy.
10. Howie: I had to include her on this list, even though she hasn’t made it past her introductory post. I spent many, many evenings jerking lattes with this young woman, and you should keep an eye on her blog. I suspect that she’s headed for big things, and I hope that she remembers to chronicle them for us.

Thanks, Amanda, for passing this along to me… and helping to remind me just how much there is that makes me happy!

3 Responses to “happy 101 award”

  1. Hey there Karen, thanks for the first completely public shout out I’ve ever gotten! I’m so glad that you like what I do. Your blog is definitely going into my following list.

  2. Hey, thanks for the shout out! I’m always pleasantly surprised that I have other readers out there besides the 9 followers at the bottom of my page. Thanks for reading!

  3. 3 matt

    thanks for recognizing me…

    i do appreciate it.

    m.


Leave a Reply

